Avaz (versions 4.0 and above) has 3 levels of vocabulary - Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 - as per the Pragmatic Vocabulary of Avaz. And you can set the vocabulary to any of the levels, depending on the child's strengths and needs.

Setting the Home Screen Vocabulary restricts the user to a specific, suitable vocabulary on the Home screen, preventing navigation and access to other vocabulary levels within the app which is unsuitable for the user at that point.

Read more about What are the vocabulary levels in Avaz?

In version 6.6 +

To change vocabulary, 

  1. Tap Menu on the top right corner.
  2. Tap Settings button.
  3. Select Home screen vocabulary. You can see the various levels that can be selected for the Home screen. Select any of the levels depending on the strengths of the user. The levels of the user are linked to the pictures per screen that is optimized for each level. This is to ensure that motor patterns are maintained across levels.

    Screenshot: Home screen vocabulary 

For Avaz versions less than 6.6

How to change the level?

A. By changing the Home Screen

  1. You can set up the Home screen with any of the levels of vocabulary. 
  2. Click here to see How to set up the Home screen vocabulary level?

B. By changing Pics per screen

  1. Tap the Settings icon on the top menu bar. 
  2. Scroll down and Tap the Pics per screen. 
  3. Tap 15 pics per screen to set it to Level 1.
  4. Tap 24 pics per screen to set it to Level 2.
  5. Tap 40 pics per screen to set it to Level 3.


  • When you move change the vocabulary level in Settings or move from one level to another (or change pictures per screen), any custom vocabulary created in the previous level does not reflect in the changed level. 
  • As you change the vocabulary level, the default categories (folders) remain the same with a few more added to the higher level; however the custom folders need to be copied in order to be accessible at the new level. 
  • Also, you may have to re-arrange the icons after moving it to the new level, in order to retain the same motor patterns that the user is already used to.